More writing needed!

When I started this blog, it was with the intention of sharing up-to-date information about what I was up to on my study leave with members of my congregation, friends, and anyone who might be interested. But I found that I took so many notes of conversations with those I met, I wanted to transcribe them carefully and thoughtfully before the appear on this blog. But there has been so much travel, so many events, so many conversations- and the weather’s been hot- so that I find there is now quite a time lag between events and the blog entries. With my last post, about my meeting with Michael Livingston of the NCCC Poverty Initiative, I came to the end of writing up my meetings in Washington DC. But that was back on 13 June, and this is 8 July! What’s happened in between?

Facebook and Twitter provide a good way to send instant news and reaction about what I’ve been getting up to (you can follow my adventures on the Old High St Stephen’s Facebook page without being a Facebook member). These social media have also been a way for me to interact with folks- it’s been interesting to learn about how best to do that, and what are the possibilities and limitations of them.

Writing the blog has been much more time-consuming than I thought it would be. However the bulk of the long interviews are now over. Although I have a few more ‘one to ones’ to record, much of the rest of this trip can be described in a bit less detail (I hope!) as I write less about meetings and more about impressions. Certainly it would be impossible to record every conversation with folks I have met over the last few weeks, as there much have been literally hundreds of conversations. But there are various overarching themes which I plan to share here.

However, I do plan to try to get more out of my notebook and onto the blog in the next day or two, before I start on my holidays. Coming up will be:

  • reflections on Cincinnati
  • Community Organising course in Columbus, Ohio
  • meetings at the Presbyterian United Nations office and the Poverty Initiative at Union Seminary, New York
  • the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA)
About Rev Peter W Nimmo

Minister of Old High St Stephen's Church, Inverness, Scotland, UK www.oldhighststephens.com
This entry was posted in Community Organising, General Assembly, Presbyterian Church (USA), Uncategorized, United Nations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

